#SFYL: …And the finalists are…

Poetry lovers have spoken and we can’t wait to see the finalists you have all voted for in the ultimate clash for the South African National Slam title. Congratulations to Pakama Mlokoti (Eastern Cape), Lucas Serei (Gauteng), Kyle Louw (Western Cape), Nomashenge Dlamini (KwaZulu Natal) and Hlox De Rebel (Free State).

WAS_Final

Pakama Mlokoti | Eastern Cape
“It feels amazing to be a Slam For Your Life finalist. I have been performing in little corners for as long as I can remember and now my province has granted me this opportunity to present my art to a larger audience. It feels a bit surreal. I am both nervous and excited!”

Describe your poetry in 3 words?
Pakama:
I would like to think of my poetry as Simple, Honest and Uncompromising.

What can we expect from you at the finale?
Pakama:
Most of my pieces are based on personal experiences, so you can expect to be taken on a journey. Also, you can expect honesty and originality.

 

Lucas Serei | Gauteng
“Receiving the most votes from Gauteng means a lot of people support my work. Also that people believe and trust that I will do a good job in representing what Gauteng has to offer in terms of poetry and performance. Which I am highly humbled and grateful for. Although no pressure, but it translates that I shouldn’t let them down.”

Describe your poetry in 3 words?
Lucas:
Honest, Creative and Witty.

If you were to build a slam team to represent your province, who would you select to make up this killer team?
Lucas:
This is a hard one…Well it will be the two poets who were to be voted for in the SFYL Gauteng, namely Thando Buthelezi and Modise Sekgothe. There are others, but these two will do for now.

 

Kyle Louw | Western Cape
“I literally did a happy dance when I heard the news, I am humbled by the support I have received.”

Describe your poetry in 3 words?
Kyle:
Honest, Vulnerable, Versatile.

What can we expect from you at the finale?
Kyle:
I am feeling the pressure as the Western Cape are the current champions but as with every performance, I am going in hard, leaving everything on the stage.

 

Nomashenge Dlamini | KwaZulu Natal
“Being voted in by my province makes me feel like I need to win!”

Describe your poetry in 3 words?
Real Growing Reaching

What can we expect from you at the finale?
Expect an unfolding of Real.

 

Hlox Da Rebel | Free State
“I’m totally psyched, glad to know that there are so many people out there who believe in Hlox Da Rebel and enjoy my poetry. I’m also thankful to everyone who sacrificed both their data and time since I was competing with two of the greatest poets in the Free-State.”

If you were to build a slam team to represent your province, who would you select to make up this killer team?
Hlox:
Most definitely Talk-Sick , Mpho Qhomane, Eye-M, Preacher Technique and Berkelium.

What can we expect from you at the finale?
Hlox:
Lots and lots of energy. I’m bringing Free State’s spirit bomb on stage. I haven’t been slamming that much this year, so my performance at Slam For Your Life is going to be off the hook like an escaping fish.

The Word N Sound Live Literature Company wishes all 5 finalists the best of luck. On Saturday 3 October, we’ll be crowning a brand new national slam champion and we can’t wait to see who will come out of this epic battle victoriously.

IMG_1562

sa-uk seasons

This project is part of SA-UK Seasons 2014 & 2015 which is a partnership between the Department of Arts and Culture, South Africa and the British Council.

One response to “#SFYL: …And the finalists are…

Leave a Reply

