“I have lived for my stories” – Vuyelwa Maluleke

WNSFest_Vuyelwa2

How does it feel to have made it to the 2015 Poetry League finale?
I’m really excited about getting to slam, about getting to share the stories. It’s cool.

How would you describe your experience on the Word N Sound stage this year?
My experience has belonged to me, all of the way. I have lived in the space differently than years before. Years before it was really about competition, about winning. But this year I have lived for my stories, I have been very soft, clearer, simpler.

What has been your highlight of the year?
This is easy, writing Black Woman Plotting, which I slammed with and it never ranked, but by God it has given me so much Joy on stages. I am grateful for the women in that poem, who came to me through reading, by way of conversation with the women I love. Black Woman Plotting gave birth to my blog, where every word is unapologetic about how desperately it wants the black woman body to survive, to love herself, to be immersed in her pleasures.

What do you think of your competitors? Who is your biggest threat?
I think what is interesting here is the ways in which we are all very different in our styles, in how we arrange language, arrange our intentions. It is dangerous to think of your competitors from biggest to smallest, we are all very big.

What is your message to the rest of the Top 5?
Lets meet at the end of the 3rd with a drink, we all probably need it.

Vuyelwa

 

About Vuyelwa Maluleke
Vuyelwa Maluleke, Joburg based Spoken Word Artist, Scriptwriter and Actor, with a BA in Dramatic Arts from the University of Witwatersrand. She describes herself explicitly as a storyteller, ‘It is when I am most honest. It is also the hardest thing to do for me, to hand my work over so publicly to audiences. I love the relationship between writing and performance, for me that sharing between audience and performer, that immediacy is like church and communion. There is so much magic there.’ About her writing Vuyelwa says ‘I owe my poetry to the township I spent my schooling years commuting from on my way to private schools and University. Seeing privilege and poverty streets or desks away from each other gives you perspective, it gives you stories. It gives you their characters too.’

Leave a Reply

