“I saw amazing poets bring amazing work every month” – Xabiso Vili

WNSTop5_Xabiso

How does it feel to have made it to the 2015 Poetry League finale?
I am feeling ever blessed. I’m excited to compete and share my story once more. It’s been a perilous journey to this point and I look forward to its conclusion.

How would you describe your experience on the Word N Sound stage this years?
Consistently moving. I saw amazing poets bring amazing work every month and that was inspiring.

What has been your highlight of the year?
Wow! So many highlights! From London to winning the Youth Speak Out Loud Slam in Pretoria to expanding my touring networks and collaborating with amazing writers and still so many more things to come before the end of this year. I think this year has just been a highlight.

What do you think of your competitors? Who is your biggest threat?
I’m excited to see what they bring on stage. I think it’s going to be quite an intimate experience on the day looking at the poets that made it through. I think my biggest threat, if forced to choose one, would have to be Vuyelwa Maluleke. Just because of her honesty, both in writing and performance.

What is your message to the rest of the Top 5?
Bring all of you to the stage. Don’t fall for the competitive hype, that’s how you stumble. Bring your soul and share and be certain you delivered all of you on the day. No regrets.

Xabiso

About Xabiso Vili
Xabiso Vili is an award winning writer, performer and social activist. He has shared his work on multiple stages ranging from all over South Africa, Scotland and London. He is the Pretoria Spoken Sessions League Champion 2015 along as the Youth speak Out Loud poetry competition champion 2015.

Leave a Reply

