#APoemADay: “Oridinary” – Kat Francois

kat-f-3 Photography: Urban Essence

Ordinary

I was 12 when we first met
You spotted mum and me in the street.
Jumped in the back of your blue Ford
She told me you were my father.

I shyly said hello,
There were some similarities
You had teeny mouse ears just like mine
Our skin colourings matched, dark chocolate.

But I dreamt you would be taller
With a handsome movie star face
Dazzling pearly teeth
And manicured nails.

I dreamt you’d have a deep man voice,
A warm enveloping laugh.

I dreamt that when we met you would hug me
And shower me with love and long lost apologies.
But that did not happen

You were ordinary
You could have been anyone’s father

I made a mental note to ask mum if she was sure.
I took sneaky looks at you
Through the rear view mirror

You smiled
I did not smile back.

[Courtesy: www.katfrancois.com]

About Kat Francois
Comedian, playwright, poet, director, actor, dance tutor and holder of many more titles, Kat Francois has been on the UK poetry scene for about 10 years. She hosts and organizes WORD4WORD, a monthly poetry and music night at The Theatre Royal, where she is a resident poet. She also hosts and organizes music, poetry and Q&A nights called INTIMATES, where artists and audiences can engage with, read and discusses works. In 2004 she became the first person to with a televised slam, taking the title of BBC SLAM Champion, and in 2005 she took the title of World Slam Champion at the World Slam championships in Rotterdam.

Watch Kat’s 2015 Poetry Africa performance ere:

Leave a Reply

