‘If a poem doesn’t blow me away…I’m not writing poetry’ – Strange

korifb

Poet Of The Year huh! How did you feel when this was announced? Did you see it coming?
I felt really happy but shocked, I had no idea it would be me or that it would be announced. I didn’t know the criteria for winning that award, it was the furthest thing from my mind.really I thought Bella was gonna win it.

You are undoubtedly, the King Of Word Play. What inspired this writing style and how do you keep sharp at it?
I used to listen to Eminem a lot when I was young, so I adopted high standards for lyrics. Staying sharp at it is always a challenge for me because if I’m writing a poem, and it doesn’t blow me away, then I’m not writing a poem. This can take months.

If you could bring one poet to the finale as your secret weapon, who would it be and why?
If I’m being honest with myself, I think I would bring Keitu (@MissAbiKinz). I really resonate with her writing style and subject matter, it’s really…raw. So I think working together would create something beautiful. Plus she’s so damn cute…(Like, if there was a way to harvest that Cuteness element…)

We’ve been introduced to many great poets this year. Who have been your favourite 3 who you’d like to see in the finale next season?
Sibusiso, Ink, and Thabiso Ngwenya

Which poet in the Top 5 will be your toughest competitor at the Season 6 Finale at #WNSFest6? (we don’t want any of those PC answers about you being your own toughest competition…you have to select one of the other finalists)
Honestly I think I’ll be my…Lol. It has to be B_Lyrical; not only does she perform well, she has so much experience…it’s definitely her.

About Kori Strange
Kori Strange is a South African poet currently studying at the University of Pretoria. He has been writing poetry since 2010 and has become an avid slam poet. He is the 2016 Word N Sound Poet of the Year and is also a finalist for this year’s Tshwane Speak Out Loud poetry competition.

Can the Poet Of The Year also walk away with the Poetry League Champion title? Join us at the finale on Sat 8 Oct to find out. Get all the #WNSFest6 details here.

Leave a Reply

